Welcome!

July 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Hello!

I figured I should add an introduction post before I start doing anything else. “What’s the purpose of this blog?” you may ask. Many blogs are devoted to the thoughts of their writer, to art, to family, to religion, to crafts, to fashion, to travel. In fact I have another blog (cue shameless plug) devoted to my art. You can find it here if you want to take a look.

I’ve wanted to create a blog that has meaning to it, that allows me to show my thoughts about things besides art. But what could I do? Being a student, it’s not like I have time to think about every aspect of my life and write about it all the time. I’d much rather write about something that means a lot to me.

And thus this blog was born.

I’m a Seventh-day Adventist Christian and I want to improve my relationship with God. The way that I tend to learn about things is by reading and studying. So in this blog, this journey of sorts, I’ll be posting my thoughts towards books I’ve read, towards Bible passages I’ve read, and towards sermons that resonated with me. Firstly, I’ll be going through Ellen White’s Spirit of Prophecy series: Patriarchs and Prophets, Prophets and Kings, The Desire of Ages, Acts of the Apostles, and The Great Controversy. I plan on finishing those 5 books by the end of the year (hopefully!) and writing my thoughts on them as I read them. Most likely I’ll go chapter by chapter or chapters by chapters (I don’t want to overwhelm myself with writing). Just reading is, of course, useful in my studies, but writing makes what you learn stick. I don’t like writing in journals too much for they can be easily lost and I’m rather impatient with writing by hand. And by writing a blog, I can share what I’ve learned more easily than I could by just having a journal.

So join me on this journey in my relationship with God. Feel free to comment and give your thoughts but make them constructive. If you think I’ve made a mistake or said something wrong, tell me through the comments. I’d hate to be a stumbling block for anyone.

But enjoy, and prayerfully, my relationship with God will be stronger.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Welcome! at My Journey With God.

meta

