The Importance of Ministry

June 25, 2014 § Leave a comment

Seventh-day Adventists, and I’m sure many Christians in general, take ministry very seriously. We take to heart the Great Commission in Matthew 28:18-20;

And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, ‘All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’ Amen.”

We preach on the importance of sharing the Three Angels’ Messages in Revelation 14:6-12;

Then I saw another angel flying in the midst of heaven, having the everlasting gospel to preach to those who dwell on the earth—to every nation, tribe, tongue, and people— saying with a loud voice, “Fear God and give glory to Him, for the hour of His judgment has come; and worship Him who made heaven and earth, the sea and springs of water.”

And another angel followed, saying, “Babylon is fallen, is fallen, that great city, because she has made all nations drink of the wine of the wrath of her fornication.”

Then a third angel followed them, saying with a loud voice, “If anyone worships the beast and his image, and receives his mark on his forehead or on his hand, he himself shall also drink of the wine of the wrath of God, which is poured out full strength into the cup of His indignation. He shall be tormented with fire and brimstone in the presence of the holy angels and in the presence of the Lamb.And the smoke of their torment ascends forever and ever; and they have no rest day or night, who worship the beast and his image, and whoever receives the mark of his name.”

Here is the patience of the saints; here are those who keep the commandments of God and the faith of Jesus.

The church’s mission is important to us, especially as we prepare for Christ’s Second Coming. So why am I mentioning ministry today? To show how it’s impacted me.

Many years ago around the time I was born, my parents were introduced to the Hamiltons. Both of my parents were Christians but different denominations. The Hamiltons were an older Seventh-day Adventist couple who knew my parents when they were in Florida and they had ministered to both my parents in different ways. The results came at different times. Sis. Hamilton gave my mom a book written by Ellen White to read (I forget the exact book, but it might be something from the History of Redemption Series). When we moved to Pheonix, AZ, she read it and sought more information on the Adventist faith. As a result, she was baptized in Pheonix. Regarding my father, Bro. Hamilton was the director of the local Pathfinder club, a Seventh-day Adventist youth group. Knowing that my father was an engineer, Bro. Hamilton invited my dad to teach a technical honor to his Pathfinder club. A few years after that, he also was baptized as a Seventh-day Adventist.

Fast forward to now, about 15 years later, and our whole family has been and is involved with the church. We have grown in our faith and have helped others find Christ as well. When you see where you could have been or where God brought you out from, it’s truly something to thank God for doing. And to think that it started with an older Adventist couple who wanted to minister to a younger couple with a young child. Personal ministry is important. And just thinking back on how my parents became Adventists makes me realize how much of a difference ministering to someone can be. That ministry can be as simple as giving someone The Great Controversy to read or inviting them to a church social. It certainly makes it less scary to be engaged in personal ministry when you know what an impact it’s had on your life (or at least your parents’ lives).

I’m writing this because Sis. Hamilton passed away about a week ago, and I just wanted to remember how she let God work through her to minster to my family. I pray I can God to work through me to minister to others, whether in a large way or a small way. Because ministry is indeed important.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Importance of Ministry at My Journey With God.

meta

